Library libguides: The research process on the Extended Essay: Citations and References

Present / Synthesis

See our 'Academic writing' libguide for help with:

How to avoid informal writing
Citation and references

Citation styles: an introduction

http://sisindia.libguides.com/acwr

Definitions: Bibliography, Citations, Referencing

Bibliography

A bibliography is an alphabetical list of every source used to research and write the essay. Sources that are not cited in the body of the essay but were important in informing the approach taken should be cited in the introduction or in an acknowledgment. The bibliography must list only those sources cited.

Citations

A citation is a shorthand method of making a reference in the body of an essay, either as an in-text citation or footnote/endnote. This must then be linked to the full reference at the end of the essay in the bibliography. A citation provides the reader with accurate references so that he or she can locate the source easily. How sources are cited varies with the particular referencing style that has been chosen. It is important to emphasize that there must be consistency of method when citing sources.

Referencing

Sir James Murray (1837-1915) with his staff compiling the New English dictionary (later the Oxford English Dictionary) - Britannica ImageQuest A reference is a way of indicating to the reader, in an orderly form, where information has been obtained. A reference provides all the information needed to find the source material. References must be cited because:

they acknowledge the sources used
they enable the reader to consult the work and verify the data that has been presented.

References must be given whenever someone else’s work is quoted or summarized. References can come from many different sources, including books, magazines, journals, newspapers, emails, internet sites and interviews. Any references to interviews should state the name of the interviewer, the name of the interviewee, the date and the place of the interview.

There are a number of different styles available for use when writing research papers; whatever style is chosen, it must be applied consistently. The style should be applied in both the final draft of the essay and in the initial research stages of taking notes. This is good practice, not only for producing a high-quality final product, but also for reducing the opportunities and temptation to plagiarize.

Referencing Online Materials

References to online materials should include the title of the extract used as well as the website address, the date it was accessed and, if possible, the author.

Caution should be exercised with information found on websites that do not give references or that cannot be cross-checked against other sources. The more important a particular point is to the essay, the more the quality of its source needs to be evaluated.

Use the CRAAP Test!

Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find when you research. Developed by Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.

Demystifying Citing and Referencing

This tutorial from can help you learn the principles of citing and referencing, and understand how to avoid plagiarizing when integrating source material into your research paper.

The tutorial takes approximately 20 minutes to complete.

Demystifying Citing and Referencing
Tutorial that explains the principles of citing and referencing, and how students can avoid plagiarism when incorporating source material into their papers. Source: Monash University Library, Melbourne, Australia.