Library libguides: The research process on the Extended Essay: Locate Books

Finding Books

Trinity College Library in Dublin, Ireland - Britannica ImageQuest Here are some places to look for books on your research topic:

West Sound Academy Library Catalog
Reference eBook databases
WorldCat
Local public libraries
Digital libraries
Google Books

Also: learn how you can use an Interlibrary Loan to get a book or article you need that's not owned by your local library.

If you find a book which is really useful, have a look at its bibliography. The bibliography can provide a wealth of leads to further sources of useful, relevant information on your topic.

Search the WSA Library Catalog

Find books, digital resources (ebooks), WebPath Express websites, and Open Educational Resources (OER).

Google Books

Google Books is a database of published books that have been scanned by Google and made available in Google search results or from the Google Books site.

You can browse books online, and...if the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

Google Books come from two sources: the Library Project (scanned books from Harvard University Library, New York Public Library and other prominent libraries) and the Partner Program. In the Partner Program, authors and publishers are able to use the Google Books site to gain wider audiences and recognition for their works.

NOTE: This cooperation in the Partner Program results in Google Books having some nonfiction titles from self-published authors that are less than credible sources for serious research. Before using a book from Google Books in your research, check to see if it's held at any public or university libraries and if it has been reviewed in any of the major publishing or library journals. If in doubt, check to see if the book is listed in WorldCat!

Reference eBook Databases

Regional Libraries

Kitsap Regional Library
Kitsap Regional Library (KRL) has nine community libraries in Kitsap County. KRL has more than half a million physical items in its collection, bolstered by online access to downloadable e-books, audiobooks and music, and free access to dozens of online research tools.
Port Townsend Public Library
The Port Townsend Public Library has print and digital books, magazines, and audio books, along with as subscription databases for research.
Seattle Public Library
Kitsap Regional Library (KRL) cardholders can get a free Seattle Public Library (SPL) card. Bring your KRL card, valid identification and proof of home address to any SPL location.

more... less...

With a Seattle Public Library card, you can:
check out books, movies and music CDs; download e-books, audiobooks, music and videos; place holds on items in person or online; use online resources (SPL databases)
University of Washington Libraries
Links to resources held at the 18 libraries at the University of Washington, including articles, encyclopedias and dictionaries, research guides, collections and archives.
Washington State Library
Search the WSL's digital collections (historic newspapers, historic maps and photos, full-text eBooks on Washington history), state and federal government publications, Washington state newspapers, and more.

Digital Libraries

Cambridge Digital Library
Cambridge University Library has built a vast collection over the past six centuries, with an extraordinary accumulation of books, maps, manuscripts and journals. The Foundations of Faith strand of content includes important works from many religious traditions, particularly Judaism, Islam, Christianity and Buddhism. The Foundations of Science content begins with the papers of Isaac Newton, includes the papers and drafts that led to Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, and also the Papers of the Board of Longitude.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. The portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner.
Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services of the Library of Congress, including American history and culture (from American Memory), historic newspapers (from Chronicling America), historic sound recordings (from National Jukebox), collections, articles and special presentations on music, theater and dance materials (from the Performing Arts Encyclopedia), prints and photographs (with over 1 million digital images), Veterans History Project, U.S. Legislative information, and collections of archived web sites.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Provides high quality online resources in the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Search by grade level, subject (STEM) and resource format. Users need to register with the site to download and save resources.
University of Washington Digital Collections
A-Z listing of the UW Digital Collections, covering a wide range of topics and media, including historical photographs, architectural drawings, historical books, musical scores, a moving images collection, and materials related to important historical events in the Northwest, including the activities of the Industrial Workers of the World, the lumber and fishing industries, and the building of Grand Coulee Dam.
Washington State Library Digital Collections
Digital collections include: full-text eBooks on Washington State history; historical newspapers, maps, and photos; Washington State Governor's database; and Washington Rural Heritage.