The research process on the Extended Essay: Databases and Websites by subject

Provides provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Provides information on the 40 different member nations/peoples of UNPO: flag, statistics, an overview, historical background, current issues, and human rights violations.

K4Health Toolkits are collections of information on public health topics, including contraception, family planning, gender, HIV/AIDS, maternal and child health, and youth. K4Health provides resources for health care providers in countries around the world.

Source of reliable information on: diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements. Presented by the Mayo Clinic, based in Rochester, Minnesota.

Find information on health, wellness, disorders and conditions, and drugs and supplements. The site also has health and surgery videos, and a Medical Encyclopedia with articles and images for diseases, symptoms, tests, treatments. Presented by NIH (National Institute of Health) / U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain.

Allows searching across descriptions of archives held at over 250 colleges and universities across the United Kingdom. Within the collections represented on the Hub there is a huge diversity of content, from the archives of industries, institutions and researchers to the letters and manuscripts of writers and poets.

Information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues, with summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents,organized into collections according to key development themes and the country or region they relate to.

Oxford University's open-access resource on forced migration, with full-text documents, resource summaries, multimedia resources, and an organization directory.

Geospatial data from all over the world, plus other resources related to geography.

Links to digital resources related to British and Irish history.

Links to archives in North America, Europe, and Israel.

A search tool which helps you find free academic articles and books, focussing your search through a curated index of journals that comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, JURN also covers selected university full text repositories and many additional journals in science, biomedical, business, law, and the natural world. Click the link for 'How to Use JURN' for helpful tips on using this resource.

Links to sites related to all aspects of literature, including: Classical & Biblical: Medieval, Renaissance, 18th-century, Victorian, 20th-century, American, Theatre & Drama, and Women's Literature & Feminism. Author: Jack Lynch, English professor at Rutgers University, Newark. Last updated in 2006.

Provides access to the United Kingdom's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities.

Links to resources related to all areas of the humanities, including English, literature, history, literary theory, and music, emphasizing both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources

Links to websites with WTO-related research and analysis materials from: academic departments, institutes, and research networks; governmental and international organizations; economic links data bases; statistical data bases; economic modeling and data; and education and training sites.

Register for free at this site that provides access to selected full text articles from Chemistry publishers such as Wiley, Elsevier and Springer. Members can download a selection of articles covering a broad range of topics direct from the pages of some of the most respected journals in chemistry.

Mechanical engineering resources, including design apps and links to engineering sites.

A search tool which helps you find free academic articles and books, focussing your search through a curated index of journals that comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, JURN also covers selected university full text repositories and many additional journals in science, biomedical, business, law, and the natural world. Click the link for 'How to Use JURN' for helpful tips on using this resource.

Links to websites and documents on many topics in pure mathematics (algebra, calculus, geometry, etc.) and mathematics as used in life and physical science (astrology, biology, chemistry, computer science, and physics) and social science (economics, population, political science.)

The National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC) offers rich searching, browsing and retrieval of digital materials and collections, including historical publications, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and more.

Provides high quality online resources in the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Search by grade level, subject (STEM) and resource format. Users need to register with the site to download and save resources.

Database of over 4,000 physics websites; all sites have been checked for accuracy and sorted into suitability for different age groups and levels of knowledge.

The member magazine of the Institute of Physics, freely accessible to the public.

Collects and ranks breaking science news, using only content that's freely accessible to online readers. Sources are chosen based on reliability, timeliness of information, extent of coverage, multidisciplinary coverage, and leads to follow-up information.

The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies. Users can search over 60 databases, over 2,200 websites, and over 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information in many formats, including full-text documents, citations, scientific data supporting federally funded research, and multimedia.

Access to geoscience print and online information sources, as well as instruction on finding and using the geoscience information from the largest earth science library in the world! Highlights include: maps, reports, imagery, datasets, and applications.

Links to language-related resources, including dictionaries, free translation, language identification, signed languages, and language lessons. Resources are also organized by specific language - from Aboriginal Languages to Zarma!

Congressional documents from the first 100 years of the U.S. Congress (1774-1875), part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection.

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information, providing access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.

Search cases and codes (U.S. federal and state), news and commentary on the FindLaw site for legal professionals. Use the link to the 'Consumer Site' to learn about the law, ask questions related to many topics in business, consumer, and criminal law, and to access legal forms.

Links to databases and websites that provide legal information and materials (including laws, bills, constitutions, court opinions, and related documents) and/or links to legal material. Covers Washington State, U.S. Federal Governement, other states, and foreign countries.

A search tool which helps you find free academic articles and books, focussing your search through a curated index of journals that comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, JURN also covers selected university full text repositories and many additional journals in science, biomedical, business, law, and the natural world. Click the link for 'How to Use JURN' for helpful tips on using this resource.

Search or browse extensive collection of worldwide legal information, and research their Wex Legal Encyclopedia which includes hundreds of definitions and explanations of legal topics. Presented by Cornell University Law School.

Search this database of U.S. state legislatures, Washington D.C. and U.S. territories for home pages, bills, press rooms, statutes, and more.

Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania. The Folklore section contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from around the world. Also contains a bestiary, a section on legendary heroes, an image gallery, and genealogical tables of various pantheons and prominent houses.

Directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament and Christian origins. Links include portrayals of Jesus in film and an online classical Greek language course. The ‘Judaica’ section also has links to Old testament resources such as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Apocrypha.

Portal to government information about Washington State: links to websites for popular services and government agencies in Washington (State, Tribal, and Federal),

Find links to websites of all UK government departments and many other agencies and public bodies. Users can search all policies, announcements, publications, statistics and consultations of the UK.

Search official U.S. government information and services by topic: A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies; Government Benefits, Grants, and Loans; Housing and Community; Jobs and Unemployment; Money and Shopping; Travel and Immigration; Voting and Elections, and more.

Provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The articles are written by professors of philosophy at colleges and universities around the world, and submissions are peer reviewed by specialists according to strict criteria.

Links to philosophy resources online, organized by topic, individual philosopher, and other categories. Last updated in 2005.

Links to scholarly information about various topics in psychology, and links to college psychology departments, self-help sites, and psychological brochures.

Directory of drawings, photos, and essays on buildings in: Australia, Canada, England, France, Germany Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Spain, United States, and Wales.

Resources on Great Britain's film and television history, Film and television resources are organized by genres and themes, industry and audiences, places, films or programs by decade, and a timeline.

Links to over 1,800 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas in the arts and humanities, biology and medicine, science and technology, and the social sciences.

VADS is an online portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research. Resources include documentary photography, textiles, posters, furniture, fashion, graphic design, and collections from many museums.