Using the internet as a resource for finding information is more and more commonplace, and it is a
tremendous resource. However, it must be used critically and with care. One important thing to be aware
of is that unlike resources found in a library in printed form, those found on the internet may not have
been through a review or editing process.
Students should:
• know appropriate search engines to use
• not rely exclusively on sources found on the internet
• have a clear and focused research question to help them search more directly on the internet (given the
amount of information available it is easy to be overwhelmed)
• critically evaluate the reliability and validity of the information presented on the internet
• keep a detailed record of all references, in accordance with the IB’s minimum requirements, ensuring
that the URL of where the source was located is written down correctly. This includes recording the
date that the site was accessed. The Researcher's reflection space (RRS) is a good tool for supporting this
practice.
The following table contains a series of questions students can apply to determine the reliability and
validity of information presented on the internet. It could equally apply to print resources.
|
Desirable source attribute |
Questions to consider in order to determine this |
|
Authority |
• Is the author of the information identified? • If the author has chosen to remain anonymous, why might this be? Is this significant in terms of your evaluation of the information presented? • Is there enough information available to establish the author’s credibility? • Is the author affiliated to an academic institution or credible organization? • Is the author qualified to write about the subject? |
|
Audience appropriate |
• Who is the intended audience? • Does the information presented appropriately address the target audience? • Is the information relevant to your area of research? |
|
Reliability and credibility |
• Does the information appear to be valid and well researched? • Can it be supported by evidence? • Can the information be verified through other sources? • Is there a non-web equivalent of this material that could be used to verify the information? • Does the URL (web address) give you any indication of the source of the information? |
|
Accuracy |
• Is there an indication as to who has responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided? • Do you know if the information has been reviewed? • Are there grammatical, spelling or typographical errors? If there are, what does this suggest about the source? • Is there a bibliography? |
|
Objectivity |
• Is the information fact or opinion? • Is the language used free of bias? • Is the author’s point of view objective or do they make it clear when they are expressing a personal opinion? • Is it a personal website? • Is the author affiliated with any institution or organization which might create a bias in the information? |
|
Currency |
• Is the information kept up-to-date? • Is there any indication of when the information was last updated? • Are any links up to date and working? |
As a tool for research, free online encyclopedias can be valuable resources, but there are several reasons
why students should be cautious in using them:
• they tend to be general encyclopedias
• very often the author is unknown
• there is no guarantee that the content meets standards of academic rigour—it may not, for example,
have been through a process of peer review
• the content can be unstable, in that it can change at any time.
|
Certainly a bibliography that only cites these for reference or an argument that is overly reliant on them will not demonstrate the necessary “range of sources” required by the assessment criteria for the extended essay. They may also not be relevant or appropriate for the research question being explored. |
If using free online encyclopedias, students should do the following:
• Follow the references provided by the encyclopedia; this will help to verify the information given.
• Consider whether the article is part of a larger project, where a number of people are contributing to
the discussion. If it is, then it implies that the writers have more than a casual interest in the topic being
written about.
• Look to see if there is a rating for the information provided. If there is then this means that the
information has undergone some sort of peer review and been given a rating. While not the same as an
academic peer review, it can aid the judgment of the “quality” of the information.
The key point to remember, if students do use information that is found on the internet, is that they are
responsible for ensuring that it is both reliable and accurate.
TIP: Annotated bibliography
As a way to enhance the discussion about the quality of the sources, students can write annotated bibliographies. Supervisors can request the students to produce one as a part of their Researcher's reflection space. An annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and some assessment of its value and relevance.
A good annotated bibliography will:
Don't miss the article related to Fake news. You will find useful information to apply while seeing for information on internet and social media..
